Krampus and The Santa Claus

Childhood should be magical.

Drake is really into Christmas. He always has been. Something about the twinkle and shine of it all. Among the typical Christmas related festivities and traditions, Santa Claus has been the one thing he loves the most. I, personally, love that he wants to believe in something magical.

Childhood should be magical.

I’m not one to take the boys to actually go and see Santa. It has only been recently that either of them is interested in seeing Santa. Previously, it was a fascination involving letter writing. This year, Santa visited Drake’s class. He even received a set of pajamas and a toy from the jolly fellow. The sheer fact that the pajamas featured a Lightening McQueen from Cars and the toy was a character from My Little Pony only fanned the flame of his love for Christmas.

But his love for Christmas includes the Germanic character of Yuletide lore – Krampus.

Being that he is indeed my child, he recently explained to those in our acquaintance that Krampus takes those who are bad and pretty much dismembers them. While he did not use the term dismember, he did relate the process beginning with decapitation and removal of limbs. This is all explained in sheer fascination and tone of “you had better heed my words.” He is, after all, an 80-year-old man stuck within a 5-year-old’s body. The “get off of my lawn” type, naturally.

Just today the boys watched The Santa Clause for the first time today. It has been several years since I have watched the film, while I am not a big fan of Tim Allen it is enjoyable and the boys really liked it. So much so, Drake declared, “See, I told you he is real.”

He later asked that I buy him a really tall rose such a ladder so that he can be on the roof. It’s not happening and he was informed that small children and even some adults should never be on ladders – myself included.

It is interesting how children perceive events and stories. I’d love to hear about your weird holiday traditions or beliefs you may have held as a kid or your own kids.

Leave a comment